Author Topic: Newb question on old graphics card  (Read 4696 times)

aquadoll

• Associate
Newb question on old graphics card
« on: February 09, 2011, 11:02:27 PM »
This is a complete newb question (as newb as you can think). I have an old graphics card in a system with this spec: "GeForce MX4000 128MB 64-bit DDR AGP". Today I ran the current version of GPU CAPS Viewer (GPUCV) on the card, and it correctly identifies it as "Renderer: NVIDIA GeForce MX4000". I have a few questions on a few other statistics reported:
1. Report: Mem 0MB.
    Question: The card should have 128MB memory. Is this a problem with the corresponding info not available in GPUCV database?
2. Report: Cores: n/a.
    Question: Again, is this a problem with the corresponding info not available in GPUCV database? If it is, is there any way for me to know how many shader cores are there?
3. Report: OpenGL: Core 1.1 - GLSL: 0.00.
    Question: Can this be updated by updating the driver, or is this hardware dependent? I have a pretty old driver from 2004 ...
I am planning to update the graphics card, but before that, I wanted to get some knowledge about how these things work !! So these questions. Thanks for any/all pointers.

aquadoll

• Associate
Re: Newb question on old graphics card
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2011, 11:23:50 PM »
OK, just by updating the driver to the latest available (in this case Oct 2006) changed the following in the report:
1. Report: Mem: 128MB. So, (1) resolved. Don't know the relation to the driver, but the value is correct.
3. Report: OpenGL: Core 1.5-GLSL: 1.10. So, I guess, the answer to (3) above is that this can be updated if the driver supports it. Interestingly, the driver download page says: Microsoft® DirectX® 9.0c and OpenGL® 2.0 support. Wondering, why is the reported version says Core 1.5. Is that a hardware limitation?
Answer to (2) is still unresolved.

JeGX

• Global Moderator
  • Capo Crimine
    • oZone3D.Net
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2011, 11:07:11 AM »